From the Primary Deputy

Book Week, Book Fair and Grandparent’s Day
The term has started off with a flurry, as we have enjoyed the various activities organised through the Library to celebrate Book Week. The School Book Fair will continue to be open until 10:00 am on Wednesday morning, for those still keen to purchase. The Theme, “Find Your Treasure” has produced some interesting costumes, not least being some of those worn by staff members! As always, the highlight was Grandparent’s Day, when our students had the pleasure of showing Grandma and Grandpa around their classrooms, sharing some lunch and just enjoying their company.

Summer Uniform
Now that it is Term 4, students are expected to wear full summer uniform each day. A full list is available in the planner (Years 3 – 6) as well as in the Uniform Shop. Obviously if it is a cold day, students may wear items of uniform appropriate to the weather. We often find that some students are tempted to let uniform slide as we near the end of the year. This is particularly regarding footwear and hats. Students are reminded that hats must be worn at all times when outside, regardless of the area they choose to play in.

Year 6 Graduation
Later in Term 4 there is a focus on our Year 6 students, as they finish their time in Primary and prepare for High School. Of particular note is the Transition Day and Orientation Evening, which is designed to give a “taste” of High School.  Another highlight of the term is Year 6 Graduation and Social.  Please note that the time for the Graduation Assembly has changed to 10:30 am this year.

Awards Update
The transition of the new awards system is almost complete.  From now onward, there will be the following changes:

  • Bronze Awards will be handed out by Stage Coordinators at morning assemblies.
  • Silver Awards will be handed out by me at Friday afternoon assemblies. Parents will be notified when their child is receiving a Silver Award.
  • Gold Awards will be handed out by Mr McMullen at End of Term assemblies.
  • Deputy Principal Awards will no longer be handed out.
  • This will be the last term/year in which we hand out Behaviour Commendation awards.

Dates for Term 4:

Monday 22nd October
Book Fair – purchasing 8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Tuesday 23rd October
Book Fair – purchasing 8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Wednesday 24th October
IPSSO – WCCS vs. St Marys
Book Fair – purchasing 8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Thursday 25th October
CSSA Splash and Dash Biathlon

Wednesday 31st October
IPSSO – GRG vs. WCCS
CSSA Softball Gala Day
PSSA Athletics

Thursday 1st November
PSSA Athletics

Friday 2nd November
K-6 Assembly – 2:00 pm in the hall

Wednesday 7th November
IPSSO – WCCS vs. THAC
Environmentors Years 1 and 2 at school

Thursday 8th November
Prep 2019 Open Afternoon from 3:45 pm to 5:00 pm

Monday 12th to Friday 16th November
Movie Week in the Library

Wednesday 14th November
IPSSO – St Marks v WCCS

Friday 16th November
Last day of Library borrowing
K-6 Assembly – 2:00 pm in the hall

Monday 19th November
Year 6 to 7 Transition Day and Orientation Evening
CSSA Senior Basketball Gala Day

Tuesday 20th November
2C and 2S Excursion to Warragamba Dam

Wednesday 21st November
IPSSO – Summer Finals
Kindergarten 2019 Open Afternoon
2H and 2OK excursion to Warragamba Dam

Friday 23rd November
All Library books due
Year 3 Wattamolla Excursion
Year 5 North Head Excursion

Monday 26th November
CSSA Junior Basketball Gala Day
ALC Money – Manna or Mammon Activities (until Thursday)

Tuesday 27th November
Prep Christmas Concert (1)

Wednesday 28th November
IPSSO – Summer Finals (Backup)
New Student (Years 1-6) 2019 Orientation – 4:00 pm in the hall

Friday 30th November
Prep Christmas Concert (2)
K-6 reports go home

Monday 3rd December
Year 6 Graduation Assembly – 10:30 am in the hall
Year 6 Dinner/Dance – 6:30 pm in the hall

Tuesday 4th December
Environmentors Years 3 and 4 at school

Wednesday 5th December
K-6 Party Day
K-6 Mufti Day
Year 6 Beach Day

Thursday 6th December
Last day of Term 4
K-6 Presentation Assembly – 9:00 am in the hall

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  Galatians 6:9

In His Service,
Robert Burgess