From Mr Burgess

Welcome to 2020 at William Carey.  I trust people have had enjoyable and relaxing holidays, despite the fires.  If you are new to William Carey this year, please make yourself known.  A great opportunity to do this is at the Primary Parent Information Evening, held on Tuesday 4th February.  A note will come home about this, with further details.

We are endeavouring to provide dates for our school community in advance, so there are three main ways we will do this, which are outlined below.

1. CLICK HERE to find a list of all Sport activities K-6, for the entire year.  Obviously there will be a few minor additions and changes over the year, but the list should be 95% complete.  Please keep this somewhere safe, so you know what is coming up and check for updates in the newsletter.

2. All currently known P-6 events, sport and otherwise, have been entered onto the Edumate (Parent Portal) calendar.  If you don’t know how to access this, or need your password reset, please email edumate@wccs.nsw.edu.au for assistance.  This calendar includes assemblies, camps, excursions, etc.  It is updated over the year, as new events are created and confirmed.

3. Each newsletter will also contain fortnightly updates (“Coming Soon”), while the first newsletter each term will have some key events for the term.

As mentioned in a note sent home during the week, we are endeavouring to make all communication from WCCS electronic, and as much of it to the school as well.  To make this effective, we need your feedback.  The goal will be for most information to come to you via Edumate/WCCS App.  This will also include the facility for you to respond to grant permission for your child to attend an activity and to add extra information required (transport arrangements, swimming ability, etc). 

If any of this is scaring you, please come along to the Primary Information Evening where there will be a demonstration, and people will be on hand to assist.

Coming Soon:

Monday 3rd February                      Gymnastics Years 1 and 3 – Students wear sport uniform

Tuesday 4th February                      Primary Parent Information Evening (details already sent home)

Wednesday 5th February               IPSSO Trials

Monday 10th February                   Gymnastics Years 1 and 3 – Students wear sport uniform

Tuesday 11th February                   Years 3-6 Swimming Carnival at Macquarie Fields Leisure Centre

Wednesday 12th February            IPSSO

Monday 17th February                   Gymnastics Years 1 and 3 – Students wear sport uniform

Friday 21st February                        K-6 Assembly – 2pm in the hall (Year 1 and Year 6 Items)

Term 1 Key Events:

Monday 24th February                   Primary Zone Swimming Carnival

Tuesday 25th February                   Leadership Day (Primary PALS and Maphutseng Ambassadors attend)

Wed 4th to Fri 6th March                Year 6 Canberra Camp

Thursday 5th March                         Prep Meet the Teacher (All classes) 6:30pm – 8pm in Prep

Friday 6th March                              K-6 Assembly – 2pm in the hall (Year 3 and Year 4 Items)

Monday 9th March                           Primary CSSA State Swimming Carnival

Friday 13th March                             K-2 Dance from 4:30pm to 6pm in the hall

Friday 20th March                             Bullying? No Way! Day

                                                             K-6 Assembly – 2pm in the hall (Year 2 and Year 5 items)

Monday 23rd March                         Prep Family Fun Day (1)

Tuesday 24th March                         Years 3-6 Parent/Teacher Interviews

Wednesday 25th March                  Years K-2 Parent/Teacher Interviews

Friday 27th March                             Prep Family Fun Day (2)

Wednesday 1st April                        Spotlight on Kindergarten 2021 Afternoon

Friday 3rd April                                   Primary Photo Day and A-K Sibling Photos

Monday 6th April                               Year 7 Taster Day (TBC)

Tuesday 7h April                                ALC Night of the Notables – All Welcome

Wednesday 8th April                        K-6 Mufti Day

Thursday 9th April                             Last Day Term 1

                                                              K-6 Easter Assembly – 9am in the hall

Friday 10th April                                 Good Friday

Monday 27th April                            First day of Term Two